Natural Consequences

Image

My daughter and I took a trip to the Smoky Mountains to celebrate my birthday,  I picked her up from her Dad’s house and we headed out on our journey.  I noticed as she ran to my car, she had on flip flops and there were snow flurries falling on the ground.  I questioned my lovely teenager and requested that she wear warmer footwear.  But she stated her feet NEVER get cold.  I’ve learned to chose my battles with my teenage daughter.  I told her to suit herself but I’m not buying new shoes on this trip.  She agreed and we were off on our journey. The first night she didn’t complain about the cold because we were mainly indoors.  However, the next morning we had to be outdoors quite a bit especially when we waited to be seated in a very busy restaurant.  It only took a few minutes in the chilling wind with snow flurries falling on her little toes for her to admit she had made an unwise decision in terms of her chosen footwear.  Upon her request, I sat on her ice cold feet once we were seated at our table. I didn’t make a big deal out of this, yet I did tell her that the cold toes and discomfort where a natural consequence of her poor decision.  I informed her that she is old enough to make her own decisions about her attire but should take my suggestions into consideration.  She learned a hard, cold lesson that she will not likely forget. Yes, I did end up buying her a pair of boots, but she had a $10 budget.  She found a warm pair on clearance for $6.99.  She continually thanked me all day for those boots and commented on how nice and toasted they made her feet feel. 🙂 Next time she slips on her shoes, I do believe she will think twice and check the weather first!  Lesson learned!

Leave a Reply

