Sometimes the best thing to say is Nothing

image

Yesterday, I got a big test in staying calm and quiet. A lady, who was assigned to help me with a project, just total gave up and verbally atracked me. I sat and listened as she blamed me for being tardy and got defensive when I apologized. I was the only one of her group of four ladies who came to the meeting. I sat and took a verbal beating for showing up. For a moment, I questioned if I should have just flaked out like the other ladies. Yet, I remained silent and let this lady in authority lash out knowing she was hurting for reasons I do not know. I kept silent until she was finished. Then politely dismissed myself. It was definitely a challenge. Sometimes, it is hard, yet necessary to be quite.
Perhaps my small act of silence will sow a seed of love in her heart. Being silent isn’t admitting you’re wrong, it is keeping the peace.

Can you relate?

One thought on “Sometimes the best thing to say is Nothing

Leave a Reply

