Helping while hurting

image

Today was a bitter sweet motherhood milestone. My daughter had her first bad heartbreak. Her boyfriend broke up with her via text.
She broke down in tears. I  honored her request to ride around and visit a few close family and friends. Our last stop was to my childhood neighbor. She was recently widowed. Her husband passed away just a few weeks ago. We went to see how she was doing as soon as we heard the news from my aunt.
We sat and visited this sweet lady for a couple hours. The grief was clear in her voice. As we were driving home, my daughter wisely declared my breakup is nothing compared to losing a husband of over fifty years. Although my child is just a teen, she is very wise. It is very true, helping others when you’re down definitely lifts your spirits.

Leave a Reply

